The Girl Before - J.P. Delaney

The Girl Before

By J.P. Delaney

  • Release Date: 2017-01-24
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 2,313 Ratings

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child

The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times

“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair

“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association

PropellerAds

Reviews

  • Amazing read, couldn’t put down

    5
    By Vikky Eve
    Interesting story line of a woman who moves into a smart, well designed home with a strict set of rules, strangely enough she looks quite similar to the woman who lived and died there before. I have recommended this book to all my friends and my book club everyone cannot get enough of this writer, highly recommend!
  • Just Alright

    3
    By jarneil92
    Plot was mediocre, characters were bland.
  • The Girl Before

    1
    By hedwigdupont
    Don’t waste your time.
  • Can’t put down

    5
    By Que?!
    couldn’t put the book down ! Had to share it with many friends as a must read!
  • Enjoyable

    4
    By peachysmart1
    I enjoyed reading this book! I was second guessing myself the entire time. The ending ended up being a little too anticlimactic for me, but I still enjoyed it.
  • Meh

    2
    By NiicoleyOh
    The book was a quick read. I read it fast due to the other reviews, to be honest. They spoke of a HUGE plot twist. The twist was small and predictable. I’m upset I wasted my time reading this. It also couldn’t make up its mind between futuristic and 50 shades of grey and a crime novel. Weird.
  • wow wow wow !

    5
    By jordan.schaper
    super amazing book. enjoyed very , in love with the ending !!
  • Fantastic read

    5
    By Jybe1
    Completely obsessed. I couldn’t stop reading!
  • MUST READ

    5
    By Bohman ;)
    It's gonna be hard to find a new book to read after this one!!!
  • It kept my interest.

    4
    By Cut wood
    Very interesting. Though The Who done it was a little in satisfying.

Comments